Background & History

The Mississauga Symphony Orchestra has been active in Mississauga since 1972.  It has been a resident tenant inside the Living Arts Centre since 1997.  The Mississauga Symphony Orchestra has grown significantly in both membership and profile, and is now proudly designated as one of Mississauga's six pillar institutions of arts, culture, and heritage.

Under the direction of Maestro Denis Mastromonaco since 2013, the orchestra continues to offer entertaining and increasingly sophisticated programs from classical and popular repertoires of symphonic music performed to the highest artistic standards. With the inclusion of the Mississauga Symphony Youth Orchestra in 2013, the organization has become the centre of classical music in Mississauga, built around the pillars of music education, performance and entertainment. 

The MSO continues to serve its original mandate to provide performance opportunities and personal development to talented amateurs while combining the strands of excellence and education through solo performance opportunities, commissions and mentoring.

The Mississauga Symphony Orchestra is thrilled to enter its fifth season under the direction of Maestro Denis Mastromonaco.

Structure & Leadership


Her Worship Mayor Bonnie Crombie


Veronica Tennant, O.C., Chair

Ruth Kitchen

Ron Searle

John Speck


Marcus Cloete

Barbara Marcus

Mary Finley

Nancy Reid

Laura Wallace


Luis Moreno, President

J. Anne Milochik, Vice President

Robert Paton, CA, Treasurer

Elizabeth Rutter, Secretary

George Brant

Marie Carnihan

Cllr. Chris Fonseca

Vilija Hakala, Players Committee

Michael Curitti, Players Committee

Trishia Kluge, Book Sale Chair

Pieter Kool

Teresa Lam, MSYO Chair

Damien Mangar


Denis Mastromonaco, Music Director & Conductor

Eileen Keown, Executive Director

Ryan Tobin, Director of Marketing & Outreach

Jennifer Tung, Assistant Conductor

Michael Curitti, Associate Conductor, MSYO Sinfonietta

Susan Grohmann, Coordinator - MSYO

Wendy Limbertie, Development Officer

Ana Trcka, Music Librarian

Barbara Douglas, Guest Artist Coordinator


Structure & Leadership

Orchestras Mississauga, which includes the Mississauga Symphony Orchestra (MSO) and the Mississauga Symphony Youth Orchestra (MSYO), is governed by a dedicated volunteer Board of Directors.  Our Board of Directors have been drawn from the local community, and from the orchestra. The Music Director, General Manager, and paid professional musicians sit Ex Officio. Both the Music Director and the General Manager also sit on the Executive Committee. Both report directly to the Board at large. The Board also includes appointed representation from Mississauga City Council.

Board of directors & Staff LIST

Members List

CM Concert Manager   * Principal


Sandra Anderson

Elizabeth Rutter

Carol Ann Savage *


Victoria Hathaway

Karen Rotenberg *


Janis Cadieux 

Hubert Eng 

Colin Savage *


David Fleming

Ondrej Golias *



Elizabeth Bowes

Laura Jack

James MacDonald *

Denise Taylor

Eric Szabo


Rob Burston

Sam Cancellara *


Bill Beecroft *

Juergen Kalzer

Sean Steiger


Grant Cowan


Jeffrey Mason

Edna Teguibon

Kevin Anderson *

Emma Mattiacci

Jaqueline McCaig



Len Ball

Andrea Bandow

Andrew Bell

Holly Bell-Sparling

Izzie Boxen

Marie Carnihan

Ian Chau

Holly Christmas

Ilya Churakov

Michael Curitti

Jin Sul Doh

Halyna Dziuryn

Corey Gemmell CM

Dorothea Helmer

Monika Hakala

Peggy Hills *

Stefan Hlouschko

Maureen Hudes

Heike Ikeno

Yong Mei Jiang

Alejandro Junco

Yun Kyo Kim

Andrew Kizas

Oksana Konapada

Anne Laughlin

William Martin

Anne McRuer

Gabriela Mielnik

Andrey Perfecky

Michael Phillips

Thomas Piekut

Teresa Pitek

Livio Rattner

Kai Rousseau

Joan Skura

Rosalind Stefanac-Skugor

Leanna Uccello

Diana Urbanek

Charlie Wong


Patrick Blair

Michael Cheng

Alison Clarke

Jonathan Craig *

Jin Sul Doh

Julia Elia-Pacitti

Jillian Haight

Eric Fahn

Vilija Hakala

Madeleine Spence

Ken Kosow

Ping Zhang 


Alexis Allen

Mary-Katherine Finch *

Ian Frensch

Daphne Grittani

Peryn Lukos

Julie Lysy

Sarah Martin

Elaine McLeod

David Padgett

Tara Tieman

Ana Trcka

Hyun-Young Ju


Julio Henriquez

Natalie Kemerer *

Bob Montgomery

Ian Richards

Deborah Smith

Paul Weston


Meet the Orchestra

With a combination of community musicians and professional section leaders, the MSO has earned a reputation as the best hybrid orchestra in Canada.

list of musicians

Denis Mastromonaco

The Mississauga Symphony Orchestra is thrilled to enter its seventh season under the direction of Maestro Denis Mastromonaco. Mastromonaco brings with him over 20 years of experience in conducting and teaching both symphonic and operatic groups. He has worked with orchestras nationally and internationally including New York’s Orchard Park Orchestra, Czech Republic’s West Bohemian National Orchestra, and the National Academy Orchestra of Canada.

Maestro Mastromonaco is a graduate of the University of Toronto. He studied conducting in Austria and Italy. Maestro Mastromonaco is a strong advocate for music within the community.


Eileen Keown

Currently the Executive Director of Orchestras Mississauga, Eileen Keown has a wide range of experience in the music profession. Ms Keown is the former General Manager and a performing member of the Chamber Music Society of Mississauga. She has been an administrator at Mount Royal University, Dean of the Royal Conservatory of Music Community Schools, General Manager of the Kiwanis Music Festival, Executive Director of the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir, and Executive Director of the Oakville Children’s Choir. Ms. Keown is a senior examiner in piano for RCM examinations in Canada and the US, and is active as a teacher, clinician, adjudicator and performer. In 2015, Eileen was awarded the Paul Harris Fellowship for community service by the Rotary Clubs of Mississauga. Ms Keown received her musical training at the University of Alberta, the Mozarteum in Salzburg, as well as a completed artist residency at the Banff Centre.


Luis C. Moreno

My gratitude to our audience, the Living Arts Centre, Volunteers, Orchestra Management, Music Director & Conductor, the City of Mississauga, the Musicians and the Board of Directors for their combined help in the success of the last season and making possible this coming season.  The 2015-16 season has been planned counting on the same level of collaboration and its success will be the result of all of us working together. I welcome you to a restructured program with more music to play and listen, with increased quality and with more musicians in the MSO and many more in the MSYO. Join us for the full season and bring your family and friends. Together, we make certain that symphonic music remains part of the cultural make up of Mississauga.

Stay Up To Date

Join the mailing list

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.